Vernissage of my mother, Clara Hirsch, and my series: “Double Vision”

Dear friends,

In case you happen to find yourself in Madrid you’re invited to an exhibition of my mother, Clara Hirsch’s latest work entitled “Double Vision” at the “Galeria Materna y Herencia” from April 9-26 at Ruiz de Alarcon, 27 Madrid, 28014. The gallery is located behind the Prado and beside the Botanical Gardens.

​These works combine my mother’s paintings of the natural environment on clear acrylic sheets overlayed on my photographs of urban scenes.​ In my mother’s words:

“The paired images illustrate my own conflicted feelings. The photographs depict my delight in architecture, culture and the vitality of city living, while the paintings express my love of nature, organic forms, and the wilderness.”

The Vernissage is on April 9 starting at 20 hrs and if you are unable to attend the opening, the exhibition continues until April 26th.

The Gallery hours are:
Tuesday-Friday: 18-21 hrs
Saturday-Sunday: 12-14 hrs
Other viewings by appointment: 658 453 610

The invitation for the show is below followed by the Artist Statement in Spanish for this series. Several pieces will also be on display from my mother’s last series and that statement and invitation are at bottom.

CLARA HIRSCH Invitación imprenta

Doble Visión

Las obras de esta serie combinan mis imágenes pintadas con las fotografías de Jake Hirsch Allen. Doble Visión retrata la tensión entre el espacio urbano y el entorno natural.

Las imágenes superpuestas ilustran mi propia confusión interior. Las fotografías representan mi atracción por la arquitectura, la cultura y la vitalidad de la vida urbana, mientras que las pinturas expresan mi amor por la naturaleza, las formas orgánicas y lo salvaje.

——

Los árboles como testigos silenciosos

En estas imágenes, he intentado transmitir la discrepancia entre mi cómoda y estimulante experiencia intelectual en Israel con el ambiente conflictivo de Oriente Medio. Mi implicación con la comunidad etíope, mi contacto con los árabes israelíes, así como mis viajes por la zona, me proporcionaron la oportunidad de atestiguar el contraste entre mi vida y la de muchos otros a mi alrededor. 

Algunas de las fotografías representan unos lugares seguros y felices: los encantos de la playa, el sentarse al borde de una piscina, o charlar con amigos. Otros retratan el conflicto, el confinamiento, y la destrucción. Por encima de estas fotografías están superpuestos unos árboles pintados sobre una película de acrílico transparente. Desde arriba, los árboles vigilan silenciosamente los acontecimientos y son testigos de todo lo que ocurre abajo. 

Trees as Silent Wi­­tnesses

In these images I tried to convey the disparity between my comfortable and intellectually stimulating existence in Israel and the conflict ridden environment of the Middle East.  My involvement with the Ethiopian community, exposure to Arab Israelis, as well as travels in the region afforded me the opportunity to witness the contrast between my life and the lives of so many around me.

Some of the photographs depict secure and pleasant environments: the pleasures of the beach, sitting around a pool, or conversing with friends. Others portray conflict, confinement, and destruction.  Layered over these works on paper are images of trees on clear acrylic sheets. The trees hover silently above the narratives and bear witness to everything below.

TreesAsWitnessesInvitation

Vernissage of my mother, Clara Hirsch, and my series: “Double Vision”

Leave a comment